Natural Bathtub Cleaning

IMG_2250

Half cup water, half cup rubbing alcohol, tablespoon vinegar, shake it up

Ah…when you start using your natural body wash and your natural shampoo, you start noticing something…soap scum.  

One thing about manufactured shampoo & body wash:  I have actually not had to wash my tub out in years!  Didn’t need to.  And I have hard water that creates lime scale and rust.  I just kind of ignored the lime scale and rust, as long as there was no “ring around the bathtub.”

Now, to remove bathtub ring & soap scum:  Half cup rubbing alcohol, half cup water, a tablespoon white vinegar, shake it up. Squirt it on your scummy surface, then scrub with a nonabrasive nylon scrubby thing. My favorite is a cotton chenille square on one side, nylon mesh scrubby on the other side.

Got rust?  Even tiny rust spots on dishes, where you’ve let a metal knife rest on a porcelain bowl?  Lemon juice and salt replace your deadly smelly chemical rust-remover products. It doesn’t work immediately; it does work pretty darn well, soaked overnight.  I used this in my tub on the rust stains and it worked fairly well — it probably would have worked better if the plug hadn’t let the lemon juice run out right away.  Also I soaked my shower curtain in the sink one night, my rusty, hard-water-stained shower curtain, in some hot water, salt and lemon juice, and stirred that all up.  The next morning I washed it in the washer and was pretty surprised at all the rust that had been removed.

Salt and lemon juice!  Amazing!

And of course there’s baking soda; I’ve used plain baking soda to scrub out my tub for years, whenever it (seldom) needs it.

IMG_2236

natural bathtub cleaning: baking soda & a scrubby; vinegar & water in a spray bottle; half cup of water, half cup of rubbing alcohol and a tablespoon of vinegar in a squirt bottle to clean soap scum; coarse salt (I bought mine in the bulk section) and lemon juice, left to sit a while, remove rust

Also I keep a spray bottle in the bathtub filled with  half water, half white vinegar, and after my shower, spray that around the shower walls that get hit with water during my shower.

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution that I put to use facilitating traditional Circle Sentencing and Native Family Team Meetings in Nebraska and Iowa while living on the Omaha Reservation for ten years. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a comment