Natural Remineralizing Toothpaste and Mouthwash

IMG_2255Once I got going with making my own deodorant, and feeling quite successful and excited about that, I decided toothpaste was next. Why not make it a “remineralizing” toothpaste, while I’m at it?  And then I found a remineralizing mouthwash recipe as well.

The toothpaste recipe is from here:  http://wellnessmama.com/8780/squeezable-homemade-toothpaste/ IMG_2232

  • 5 Tablespoons Calcium powder or Calcium Magnesium Powder
  • 3 Tablespoons Xylitol Powder- This ingredient is not completely necessary, but just keeps it from tasting bitter. We don’t cook or consumer Xylitol, but there is some evidence that it is beneficial orally
  • 4 Tablespoons coconut oil at room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon baking soda
  • 2 Tablespoons Bentonite Clay or you could use additional Calcium powder or Calcium Magnesium Powder — I already had some Redmond Clay powder and used that
  • 3 Tablespoons Distilled Water or slightly more to thin
  • 40+ drops of essential oils of choice: Peppermint, Cinnamon, Oregano, Lemon/Lemongrass, etc. — I added Neem Oil
  • optional: 20-30 drops of trace minerals

IMG_2205I blended the ingredients in a ceramic bowl sitting in a larger ceramic bowl of hot water, to melt the coconut oil; it takes just a few minutes for the coconut oil to turn to liquid.  I added the other ingredients and stirred the mix with wooden chopsticks because they’re long.  Somewhere in the instructions for maybe this recipe, I learned to not let the ingredients come into contact with metal while mixing this up — it may have been the Bentonite Clay — so I used glass and wood and no metal for mixing.  Then I poured the ingredients into glass bottles to let it set up.  I’m using the toothpaste out of the small blue lidded glass bottle, and scoop the toothpaste onto my toothbrush with the wooden spoon.  I love the taste of this stuff!IMG_2233

Initially my experience with this toothpaste & the following mouthwash recipe:  I could feel “stuff happening” on the right side of my mouth, but not my left.  That was very strange.  The right side of my mouth got super-sensitive, to the point where I had to quit using this toothpaste for one or two brushing sessions, and use another toothpaste product I have already and have been using for quite a while, a product from Ascended Health, called OraLive.  I love this product too, and wanted to see if I could make my own toothpaste for myself.  It seems to work just fine.

The Remineralizing Mouthwash recipe comes from here:  http://www.livingthenourishedlife.com/2013/09/homemade-mouthwash-recipe-for-whitening-and-remineralizing  IMG_2234

  • 2 teaspoons calcium carbonate powder
  • 1 teaspoon xylitol crystals
  • 10 drops concentrated trace minerals liquid
  • 10 drops peppermint essential oil
  • 5 drops lemon essential oil
  • 5 drops spearmint essential oil
  • 2 cups of filtered water
  • I added neem oil, and didn’t use the lemon essential oil because I didn’t have any; lemon oil adds “whitening” to the recipe

Directions:

  1. In a large glass mixing cup, stir together the calcium powder and xylitol crystals
  2. Add liquid minerals and essential oils
  3. Add water and stir
  4. Pour mixture into a glass bottle 
  5. Close the lid tightly and shake ingredients together for about 30-60 seconds so the xylitol dissolves
  6. Shake well before using
  7. Store in the refrigerator for up to two weeks

Hmmm…looks like my mouthwash is nearing its expiration date.  I’ve used up one bottle of this, almost, and there’s another one to go yet.  I’ve kept the second bottle in the refrigerator.

Neither one of these recipes, by the way, should be swallowed.

I have no idea why I started getting obsessed with creating my own natural health care products several weeks ago.  I just did; I decided to go with the flow, and follow what excited me next.  And this excited and thrilled me.  I had a lot of fun doing this, playing with what did & did not work.

I think my body is happy with my new choices.

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

5 responses to “Natural Remineralizing Toothpaste and Mouthwash

Leave a Reply

