Natural Homemade Tooth Powder

I have periodontal disease.  My dentist, years ago, offered to do the gum scraping the dental profession has to offer those with periodontal disease.  I decided to pass.  Dentist highly suggested I use dental irrigation and floss regularly, neither of which I did.  I bought the Water Pik and couldn’t stand getting water all over myself at the sink and used it about three times, then stuffed it back into the bathroom cabinet and — hey, I bought it!, so that has to be a good thing.  But you have to actually use it.

Recently it came up in conversation with a new neighbor, now that I moved — and in the move, ditched the old Water Pik — how she cured her periodontal disease with myrrh gum and a Water Pik.

Well, hmm.  I was thinking it might be time to look at that again.

I bought a water irrigator device for the shower!  Aha!  I won’t mind if water gets all over me in the shower. Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 2.28.18 PM That’s why you take a shower.  Okay, that’s Step 1; now how about that myrrh gum thing?

I found a recipe for myrrh gum tooth powder, since I didn’t know if my neighbor actually just uses myrrh gum or what she does.  Yes, later I found out that it’s possible to buy straight myrrh gum, little myrrh pellets in a bottle, and she chews on those.  That’s what she does:  myrrh gum and a Water Pik in the sink and she’s good to go.

I mixed up the tooth powder, and I wet my toothbrush, dip it into the tooth powder, brush my teeth with the myrrh gum tooth powder, then jump in the shower and rinse my teeth and gums with the Oral Breeze shower attachment.  It’s working for me.  I bought mine through eBay.  The same item is also available at Amazon at the same price.  Clicking on the photo should take you to the Amazon page to buy the Oral Breeze.  Again, I’m not affiliated with Amazon, eBay, Oral Breeze or anybody else; I’m just sharing what works for me.

I found the tooth powder recipe here and would suggest that readers go to the original page for the helpful tips and advice there.

The recipe uses “parts.”  I translated that to be “one tablespoon.”  I didn’t measure exactly, and some scoops with the tablespoon were a little taller than others.  I started filling a pint glass jar with:

IMG_0312Four parts clay (white or bentonite). I used bentonite clay since I have that already and use it in my remineralizing toothpaste recipe.

One part baking soda.  I use Bob’s Red Mill because it has no aluminum.  But I’m not sure about aluminum in baking soda.  Is aluminum added to other brands?  I don’t know.

One-half part white oak bark powder. I estimated at half a tablespoon.  I’d like to leave the original post’s comments here and I’ll quote them:  “For those of us with receding gums, loose teeth, or painful jaws, white oak bark provides huge relief and healing. Oak bark contains tannins which tighten loose teeth and gums, and over time can help the retain the elasticity of the tissue. White oak also contains high levels of minerals — calcium, manganese and zinc — which will strengthen the teeth and jaw over time.”  I bought my white oak bark powder from Mountain Rose Herbs, and I am not affiliated with them or with anyone else.

One-half part myrrh gum powder.  And here’s the main ingredient, the myrrh!  Again, I added roughly half a tablespoon.  Her description for myrrh:  “Myrrh preserves tissue, slowing its deterioration. So, if you have recession or infection problems, this ingredient is a must.”  Or, I’m guessing, a person could buy just the myrrh gum pellets and chew on them and call it a day.

One-half part clove powder.  I estimated half a tablespoon here too.  “Cloves are powerful pain relievers. In fact, if you have a painful tooth, you can place a few drops of clove oil on the affected area and the pain should quickly vanish. I like clove in this recipe because of its antibacterial, antiviral, and anti-fungal.”

Xylitol for sweetening.  I used one tablespoon.  Do not give this recipe to dogs if you’re going to use Xylitol in it.

Peppermint oil for flavoring.  I dripped some into the jar and it probably ended up being 1/4 tsp to 1/2 teaspoon of liquid.

IMG_0313I stirred the peppermint oil into the powder with a set of chopsticks, then shook it up a few times and scraped the extra oil off the sides.  I noticed that my first recipe looks kind of red, and this recipe looks kind of gray.  The first time I added some cinnamon I ground up with my cinnamon grinder; I didn’t add that this time.  That probably accounts for the color difference.  I didn’t care for the grittiness in the first recipe, so we’ll see if eliminating the cinnamon takes away the grittiness.

On the original page where this recipe appears she gives some other tips and great information as well.  I’d suggest checking it out!

I’ve been using this recipe and the shower irrigator since sometime in November, which is several months now, and I can tell there’s a change for the better in my mouth.

A couple of other things I wanted to add:

>>using coconut oil to “swish” your mouth, holding the coconut oil in your mouth and swishing it around for a few minutes, is very helpful.  When my teeth are feeling really sensitive for whatever reason, if I swish with coconut oil several times a day over a few days’ time, that really helps.

>>I just tried my new recipe, *with* the peppermint and *without* the cinnamon from the grinder, and WHOOH!!!  Boy, is that peppermint oil refreshing!  I like this recipe a lot.

>>I also love a toothpaste recipe I’ve purchased at Ascended Health.  They put some amazing ingredients in their products, physical as well as energetic and etheric.  Highly recommend Ascended Health.  And again, I am not affiliated with Ascended Health or anyone else.  I just love their stuff.

>>One drawback to this tooth powder:  it’s drippy.  It’s not a nice sticking-together paste that foams, stays put in your mouth while you brush your teeth, and then you spit it out.  No, it kind of drips out of your mouth onto whatever you might be wearing at the time, and it’s dark in color due to the cinnamon and cloves.  It doesn’t seem to stain, though, and does come out in the wash.  Still, this is such a good recipe I’m willing to put up with the inconvenience.

 

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

