Natural Body Wash

IMG_2218I’ve been using this since January.  Great stuff.  Wouldn’t want to use anything else.  I can’t remember the last time I made up a recipe, so I’m thinking two months ago?  It lasts quite a while, and tonight I’m almost out.  I’ll probably make a double batch.

2/3 cup castile soap (Dr. Bronner’s)
1/4 cup raw, unfiltered honey
2 tsp oil — I used 1 tsp almond & 1 tsp Vitamin E oil, which I’ve both omitted, and included, and I haven’t noticed a change in quality — it’s used as a preservative
50-60 drops essential oils of your choice

Melt the castile soap and the honey together over a very low heat, stirring with chopsticks in a quart-sized Ball jar in a pan of hot water, perhaps, and then add the oils, and pour into a squirt bottle — no water added.  Voila!

I’ve used a natural Ayate cloth in the shower for years; I love their scrubbiness and rinseableness and naturalness.  When I use store-bought shea butter body scrub, it ruins my Ayate cloth right away.  This homemade recipe with Dr. Bronner’s and honey and oil does not ruin my Ayate cloth, plus I get to pick the scents I want to live with for the next little while, which is fun too. I’ve also noticed since January that my skin is way softer now than it was then, or ever, and my heels which have always been rough and been a problem are getting softer.  I’m attributing this to using structured water.

Editing in, March 23, 2016:  I’m making a new batch of this tonight, tripling the recipe.  I love this stuff!  Tonight I added, for the essential oils, 1 tsp. of peppermint; 50 drops of lavender; 50 drops of rosemary; 20 drops of geranium essential oils.  For the other oils I used 3 tsp. almond oil, 2 tsp. jojoba, and 1 tsp. and a smidge more of Vitamin E oil and now I’m out of Vitamin E.  I didn’t have enough E for the whole recipe, so I added the other oils to make a total of 6 tsp. of oils.  Also, I started out using 1 1/3 cups of Dr. Bronners’ Peppermint castile soap, and I used up the end of the bottle of Dr. Woods’ Shea Vision Lavender scent castile soap, 2/3 cup of that.  I bought the Dr. Woods from Amazon, and frankly, wasn’t that impressed.  I can buy Dr. Bronners in bulk at a store a mile from my house, so I’ll go back to doing that.

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

