Mango Pineapple Fire Freeze

IMG_1006
I visited Oregon four times in the summer and fall of 2014 before finally moving here in November 2014.  It was a hot summer and I discovered Dutch Brothers.  I’m not so excited about their coffee or their mocha, but man, that summer they had a frozen mango drink spiked with hot pepper that was absolutely to die for.  I ordered it every time I could, with whipped cream on top.  They were amazing.  Once I moved here…those awesome hot spicy frozen mango delights disappeared.  They didn’t make the next season’s menu.

I hadn’t really thought about them until tonight when I suddenly got the urge to take one cup of pineapple juice and three cups of ice and throw that in the VitaMix together.  Aha, I said to myself, then add some cayenne pepper and turmeric and it’ll be healthy — how about some ginger too!

I mixed that up until the blender stopped suddenly, then tasted it.  Whoa, this was great — but…could be better.  Mango.  Mango is what it’s missing.

IMG_1004I emptied the pineapple & crushed ice cube mix into a tall glass and pulled about 3 slices of dried mango out of the jar, put those in the empty VitaMix, added a cup of water and 1/4 teaspoon of the real herb stevia.  Not the white processed powdered stevia, but the actual herb plant stevia.  I’m following the Blood Type O diet at the moment, and most sweeteners are on the “nope” list.  Stevia is a natural sweetener and is okay to use.  I bought the stevia in bulk years ago and sweeten my yerba mate’ with it.

I blended that, added in the pineapple and ice and hot spice mix, blended that all together, and wow, amazing!  This is almost exactly what the Dutch Brothers hot spicy mango freeze tasted like.

It’s going to be 106 here on Saturday and 102 on Sunday.  I’m all ready for it.  Mango Pineapple Fire Freeze, here I come.

So here’s the recipe:

1 cup organic sugar-free pineapple juice
(I didn’t use a cup measure; I used one of the glasses out of my cupboard)
3 cups of ice from the ice-maker
approximately 1/8 teaspoon cayenne red pepper
approximately 1/4 teaspoon dried ginger
approximately 1/8 teaspoon turmeric
2-4 slices of dried mango
1 cup of water IMG_1005
(less water, more ice, if you want it to be more like a slushy to eat with a spoon)
1/4 teaspoon stevia herb

Blend it all and enjoy its healthy hot & spicy deliciousness.

This is a perfect recipe for the Blood Type O diet, by the way!

Update:  It was so good I had to try it a second time.  This time I threw all of the ingredients into the VitaMix at the same time and turned it on.  It stopped quickly, and I stirred it up a little and turned it on again, and again the blender whirred for a bit and then stopped before completing the cycle.  This happened oh, a dozen or more times.  I added a bit more water.  That helped, but not much.

What I learned:  do it the way I accidentally did the first time, only in reverse.

Next time I whip it up here’s what I’ll do.  First add the dried mango slices, the pepper, ginger and turmeric and stevia, 1 cup of water, 1 cup of pineapple juice, and blend.  Then add one cup of ice cubes at a time and blend, going for three cups total, or to the consistency you want.

 

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

