Almond Milk & Hemp Seed Hot Breakfast

IMG_0983I’m back to working with a Blood Type O diet due to inflammation in my joints and muscles.  I reorganized my kitchen cupboards and my pantry and my refrigerator to “hide” all grains (including rice), multigrains, breads, anything with gluten in it, and make the pantry more accessible to the stuff I need to be using.  I actually alphabetized my pantry shelves.  Seriously.  The dried blueberries sit on the shelf next to the almonds and are at the opposite end from the walnuts.  This is the only way I could think of to organize my shelves and know where stuff is, now.

So the top shelf in the pantry is for the “this is awesome for you” Type O Blood Diet foods.  The shelf below that is for the “neutral” foods.  The shelf below that is for the “only once in a great while” foods.  And the cupboard above the fridge, the one that’s almost impossible to reach unless I get on a 2-step stepstool, that’s where I keep the stuff that, so the theory goes, is going to make me hurt.

There’s a lot of fish and meat on this diet.  Meat for breakfast?!  Things like whole wheat toast for breakfast are forbidden.

For the first few days, a plate of tuna with olive oil and lemon juice and a sprinkling of my pink salt with dulse added in…that was just fine.  That and a banana, groovy.

This morning, I wanted oatmeal.  Or rice.  Or something like that.  Warm.  In a bowl.  A little bit sweet.

And this is what I came up with.

Start with:
3 cups water in the VitaMix
1/4 cup almonds
~~blend to make Almond Milk~~
Then add — and I didn’t measure anything, just threw it in, so my measurements are approximations:
1 Tablespoon blueberries-ish
6 apple slice rings-ish
1 teaspoon dried ginger-ish 
3 dates (make sure the pits are removed)
~~blend on the Soup setting to make it hot~~
Pour into your bowl or mug and add 1 or 2 Tablespoons of hemp seeds and eat like a very thin oatmeal, or drink like a very thick chai.

What else sounds good to throw into the mix?

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

