Homemade Natural Dog Toothpaste

IMG_5060

Kona, the day after chewing on a nice marrow bone, and on a good-sized rawhide this morning.

So…yeah, I’m not a real stickler for dog grooming.  My current canine companion is a Goldendoodle, hates bathtime, needs a total body haircut every nine weeks, and is lucky to get that.  That in itself is an all-day project for the two of us:  I wash him (it takes a good long while, coaxing him into the shower) and then cut his hair (4-5 hours right there) with scissors, and after that we’re both exhausted.  The next day I wash up all the towels and sheets, vacuum everything, and in nine more weeks…do it again.

He also has teeth that need braces.  Hmm….  And in those needs-braces front teeth, a lot of ew looking stuff shows up.  I don’t remember my other dogs having these issues.

IMG_5056One thing people recommend for clean teeth in your dogs is to give them raw marrow bones to chew on.  Lucky me:  there’s a natural-organic butcher shop about a half mile away from my house, and I bought some bones there yesterday.  I gave Kona his first bone last night and he was quite well entertained with it.  After the dogs chew everything out down to the bone, I understand, it’s time to throw the bone away, so the dog’s innards don’t get damaged by bone fragments.  Three humongous marrow bones will be good enough for one week, I’m thinking.

Today I’ve got my make-it-myself thing going so I’m going to mix up some homemade natural dog toothpaste.

Here’s one recipe:
6 tablespoons baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 cube of beef bouillon (or vegetable for a vegan version)
1 teaspoon dried or fresh parsley
1 teaspoon water

And another one:
6 teaspoons of baking soda
1/3 teaspoon of salt
4 teaspoons of glycerin
2 teaspoons of organic, low-sodium beef broth or 2 teaspoons of peppermint extract

Here’s a pretty simple one, with some other recommendations.

Here’s another recipe, but it’s troubling:  one of the commenters to the post said that cinnamon is poisonous to dogs; see the list of pet poisons link below.
1T Beef Bouillon Granules dissolved in 1T hot water-(makes it tasty)
2T Baking Soda-to clean the tartar
2t Cinnamon
1/3 C Coconut oil

List of pet poisons, and reader comments add more.

Here’s one more recipe, but there are no proportions, just ingredients — one of which is cinnamon, to make your dog’s breath smell better.  Why are we so worried about the smell of dog breath?  Parsley is safe for dogs if given in small quantities and for years I bought dog treats with parsley, to freshen the dog’s breath.  Come to think of it, I’ve never seen cinnamon flavored dog treats.

And I liked this recipe too:
1/2 cup of baking soda
3Tbsp of water
1 tsp of oil (she’s using grapeseed oil)
1 cube or 1 tsp of  chicken or beef bouillon for taste

As you can see, there’s no clear pattern here.  One recipe calls for 6 teaspoons of baking soda, one calls for 6 tablespoons of baking soda, or 2 tablespoons of baking soda, or a half cup of baking soda…  What to do?

I pendulumed it, asking my body for what would work best for me and for Kona.  The results:  use the first recipe I’ve listed here, and I’m going to add a little coconut oil to the recipe.  One of the recipes calls for 1/3 cup coconut oil.  I’ll go with that.

Also as I started mixing this up, and I’ve got diatomaceous earth here on the counter because I added it to the new deodorant recipe I just made up, I thought about adding diatomaceous earth to the mix.  Is diatomaceous earth toxic for dogs?  NO, it’s not toxic and it’s perfectly fine for dogs and is even beneficial as a wormer, both internally and externally.  So!  We shall add diatomaceous earth to the recipe.
IMG_5062

And voila!  My Own Original DrStrangeItch Dog Toothpaste Recipe:
6 tablespoons baking soda
6 tablespoons diatomaceous earth

½ teaspoon salt
1 cube of beef bouillon 
1 teaspoon dried or fresh parsley
1 teaspoon water
1/3 cup coconut oil

First I melted the coconut oil in a glass measuring cup in a pan on very low heat on the stove, stirred it up with chopsticks, and added the rest of the ingredients one at a time.  The recipe filled up 3 little containers that I buy 10 for $1 at Dollar Tree.  This should be about a 20-year supply of dog toothpaste, at the rate I use dog toothpaste.
IMG_5063

Let me add one more little detail.  As I’ve been Googling around this morning and afternoon, looking for good dog toothpaste recipes and reading comments, what I come across time after time is XYLITOL.  Xylitol kills dogs and cats and other little furry pets.  Xylitol can be in your chewing gum.  Do you chew gum?  Check the ingredients.  The tiniest little bit of chewing gum snarfled out of your purse by a typical curious doggy friend can kill him.

I also do not use breath mints, but I’d bet you a nickel there’s Xylitol in the breath mints in your purse or pocket or sitting on your nightstand within your curious dog’s reach.

Also I’ve discovered that Xylitol is now being added to peanut butter, unbeknownst to most of us.  Sometimes we like to add peanut butter to a Kong toy and give it to the dog for their entertainment.  One of my dog trainer’s favorite tips to share was mix yogurt with peanut butter, stuff a Kong with that, freeze it, and give it to your puppy; this is especially great for puppies who are teething.  I used that idea a LOT when I had a puppy who was teething.

Xylitol is often, now, in human toothpaste.  DO NOT GIVE YOUR DOG TOOTHPASTE, or anything else, with Xylitol in it.

Just thought I’d share that little tidbit.

Due to my own lackadaisical nature when it comes to brushing Kona’s teeth, I only brushed his teeth once with my own homemade natural toothpaste, WHICH CONTAINS XYLITOL.  This occurred to me a couple of months later, when I was going after Kona with his toothbrush and a little homemade toothpaste glopped on top of it.  NO, he said!  NO, NO, NO.  I didn’t push it, and later was so thankful that I didn’t push it!  And then I looked up recipes for homemade natural DOG toothpaste, none of which contain Xylitol.

Now he’ll have his very own toothpaste that tastes like beef and has no Xylitol in it.  We’ll see how he responds to seeing me wielding the toothbrush in his direction now.

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

One response to “Homemade Natural Dog Toothpaste

  • J

    Hi, found you at last:) Miss your story telling since the old place shut down. Kona, looks like he has puppy teeth that didn’t come out naturally, and have to be taken out. This maybe why he looks like he needs braces on them.
    Hope your both nicely settled in your new home. Book marked this blog, great to read your stuff again. 🙂
    Vixen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

