Homemade Natural Hummingbird Nectar

IMG_4865

So yesterday we did some gardening, my gardener friend and I. She’s the expert and I pay her, and I tag along ask questions and learn, and weed, or dig holes, or find that bag of potting soil I knew I had around here somewhere, or run to the store for this kind of mulch or that kind of equipment I don’t have yet. The last time she was here she potted my tiny little blueberry plants into bigger pots and directed me to make sure they got plenty of sunshine AND plenty of mist.  When she got here yesterday she was shocked and a little perturbed.  My blueberries are too dry.

Oh yeah…I’ve got the mister, but didn’t have it hooked up yet.

The blueberries don’t need drenching, but they do need constant mist. We are in southern Oregon, where it’s only going to get hotter and drier the rest of the year, and they need to stay in good shape between now and September when they get stuck in the ground in the front yard.

I headed off to the store and bought a new skinny little hose half-inch hose for my mister, and another Y piece for hooking up multiple hoses and gadgets to the faucet nearest my garden. I already have two hoses hooked up there to the timer.

Now I have three hoses and a timer hooked up to the same faucet.

Once I connected the new mister to the new hose and positioned the blueberry pots just right so they could take the best advantage of the sun and the mist, and tried out the timer in conjunction with all of the other parts of the system — the drip line for the birdbath, and the hose to water the garden — I stood back and just watched.

And there it came: a hummingbird.  It darted in and out of flowers that are just now blooming in the heavy vine over the trellis.

She and I stood there and chatted and watched the hummingbird darting here and there, back and forth, into the mist and out again.  “Oh, they like mist,” she said.

I figure they like the mist and the structured water and the birdbath.

Then I noticed the hummingbird feeder was just about empty.  It had been half full the day before.

This morning the hummingbird feeder was totally empty.  I already knew I was in trouble; a few days ago, out walking Kona, my 80-pound GoldenDoodle, not one but TWO hummingbirds zoomed low over my head, then hovered nearby, just to make sure I saw them.  I’m sure they were telling me to GET THE HUMMINGBIRD FEEDER FILLED AND HANGING IN THE YARD.  Okay then!  That particular hummingbird food had been in the fridge for a month or two already, and now I’m out.

So tonight I looked up a recipe for hummingbird nectar.  It’s very basic, easy to do, and doesn’t cost much.

1 part sugar/4 parts water
(I used structured water from my tap, and organic IMG_4873pure cane sugar, with none of the color removed — and none added.)

Boil the water first, then measure and add sugar, at the rate of 1/4 cup of sugar to 1 cup of water.

Let cool and store excess in refrigerator until ready to use.

Do not add food coloring, honey (which ferments), or artificial sweetener, which has no nutritional value.

I found the recipe, and other directions for do’s and don’ts with hummingbirds and feeding them, here.

I’ve got to get back out to my garden and spend some time there tomorrow and take a video of my Hummingbirds in the Mist!  It’s so much fun watching them.

 

 

 

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

