Natural Spray Deodorant

IMG_4306In a recent episode of Clayton’s Classroom (might have been this one) I heard Doc Russ mention using just baking soda and water for deodorant.  He recommends Bob’s Red Mill baking soda because it’s better for our bodies.

I ordered a four-pack of Bob’s Red Mill baking soda from Amazon and this morning was making shampoo and toothpaste, so I decided to make some deodorant too.  I found this Wiki recipe after I’d put mine together, when I thought about adding some essential oil to the mix.

What I did:  filled the 4-ounce bottle with warm tap water — my tap water is structured water — and then measured in about a teaspoon of baking soda into the jar, then shook it up so it was dissolved.  That was it.

What the Wiki recipe says to do is fill the spray bottle about half full of water, then add 1/8 teaspoon of baking soda, then test it by seeing if the water feels slippery.  Keep adjusting it until you feel the right combination of water and baking soda.  All water is different, and what’s “right” for my recipe in Oregon, which I’ve learned by trial and error, may be totally different for my recipe when I’m using water in Nebraska.  So it’s done by feel.  Good point.  I’ll do this next time.

I sprayed the back of my wrist with the baking soda & water, and it felt slippery.  I might have too much baking soda in there; I’ll find out, I’m sure.

Then I added a couple of drops of lavender essential oil and shook that up.

I’ll try this out and see how it works for me.

I found these 4-ounce blue spray bottles at a Natural Grocers in Omaha when I lived there.  Now that I’m in Oregon, the Natural Grocers in Medford does not carry these, or at least they don’t have them in stock now.  I have found them on Amazon. 

 

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

