Homemade Natural Microwave Popcorn!

IMG_4235

I saw this one on Facebook and decided to try it tonight.

You’ll need:
1 brown paper lunch bag
1/4 cup popcorn kernels
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. salt

Drizzle the olive oil over the popcorn kernels and let that sit for a minute.  Then throw that in the brown paper lunch bag, sprinkle the salt over the popcorn & oil, fold the top of the bag twice, and place in the microwave for 2:30 — 2 minutes, 30 seconds to begin with.  Microwave power varies; start there and see how to adjust it to your microwave.

The Facebook recipe suggested that you could add sugar to the mixture too if you like it sweet.  I don’t.

I tried the recipe and it came out fine.  I like mine a little saltier, though, so next time I’ll add a little more salt — maybe after it’s popped.

Also, I used “Real Salt” for my popcorn, the kind that comes from Utah.  I’d also use Himalayan Pink Salt, ground fine.  And the next time I’ll use coconut oil instead of olive oil, and since my popcorn came out a little burnt this time, next time I’ll shorten the time to maybe 2 minutes 15 seconds.

But hey!  This worked great.  I might double-bag the popcorn, too, because as you can see from the picture the oil soaked all the way through the bag.  A package of 100 lunch bags cost $1.97 tonight at Target.  One 2-pound bag of organic popcorn kernels cost me about $5 at the organic grocery store the other day.  This way I could make 16 servings of organic healthy microwave popcorn for about $7.

Actually, Amazon’s Orville Redenbacher’s Movie Popcorn is cheaper; my version would be 43 cents a bag; Orville’s would be 39 cents a bag.  I have a feeling my version is way healthier.  Another Amazon offering is Act II Butter Lovers, which comes out to 59 cents a bag.  So, it depends on a person’s priorities.  I’m just excited to learn that I can make my own microwave popcorn!  I’d never considered that before.

Update!  Tonight I made the next batch of popcorn, using 2 minutes 15 seconds, double bags, and 1 1/2 Tbsp. coconut oil instead of 1 Tbsp. olive oil.  BIG huge improvement.  None of the popcorn burned; the kernels filled out much bigger than they did with the olive oil, and filled the bowl all the way full, with just 1/4 cup; I’m so much happier with this recipe.

I added too much salt, though.  Just 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt should do it.  No need to add extra, for me.  I did add more to the top of it after it was done popping, but added too much.

Oh, and one other thing.  I added the coconut oil to the bag with the popcorn, and today in my house the coconut oil is solid.  It gets liquid at 76 degrees and above.  Today in my house it is not 76 degrees.  So, about halfway through the popping time I stopped the microwave, took the bag out, shook it a few times, and turned the bag over, then started it back up again.  Perfect!

 

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

