Water, Part 3

In July I drove to the Pacific Northwest, decided it was time to move to the Pacific Northwest, and between July and early November made 5 road IMG_3684trips from the midwest to the Pacific Northwest.  The last road trip was me, driving myself, my dog, and the stuff I’d need in my new house for two weeks one way here while the rest of my stuff was in transit on the back of a big truck.

Now I’m all unpacked, mostly, and can find almost everything, mostly, and have a few things to comment about, about water.

Wow, the water in the house where I used to live in the midwest was hard.  I mean hard.  All the problems I was having with gunkiness in my hair have now gone away.

I will say this:  with the water in the town and the house I live in now, my hair actually gets softer and silkier every day, and I have to wash it because I can’t figure out how to make it stay in a ponytail!  Or in one of my other hair-doodad-things.  It falls right out because it’s getting too silky.

Which is not to say “too oily.”  It’s not getting oily.  It’s getting silky.

Wow, was my water ever hard, where I used to live, and even 3 structured water units attached to my house didn’t budge it.  I have those three structured water units attached to my house now, and the water is great here.

But again:  note that it’s been almost a year now since I used store-bought shampoo, and the hair I have now does not get oily on Day 2, requiring me to shampoo again and use conditioner again or else my head becomes an oil slick.  I really don’t use much shampoo at all, and what shampoo I do use is the Zum Shampoo bar (bought online at their website, indigowild.com, in the Zum Lab area) that I grate, mix with 4 times again as much water as bar soap, heat very gently so it all blends together, stir it a few times with chopsticks while it’s blending, let it cool, bottle it up and use it.  I think the last time I made shampoo was shortly before I moved, maybe the middle of October-ish.  Maybe earlier.  September-ish or October-ish.  I have lots left and won’t be making any anytime soon.  A bar of Zum Shampoo is $6, plus tax and shipping, is made of awesome ingredients, and smells fabulous.

What did not work for me when I lived in the midwest was washing my hair with vinegar & water, or using vinegar & water as a rinse.  That was pretty worthless.  Someone I met in the Pacific Northwest in July told me that she washes her hair in spring water and vinegar, and if she needs a conditioner, rubs on a tiny little bit of coconut oil into the palm of her hand and uses that.  That’s all she does.  I have not tried this yet, now that I also live in the Pacific Northwest and my water is awesomely awesome, but for sure it did not work for me when I lived in the midwest.

Another thing I noticed:  a couple of days ago I boiled water for ginger tea, pretty much emptied out the kettle into my cup, and way down at the end of the tea there was a disgusting pile of tiny little white calcium balls!  I thought it was unmelted ginger tea crystals, but no; it was calcium.  Blech!  (Did not taste at all like ginger tea, a big shock to my tongue.)  I’m still getting midwestern calcium deposits washing out of my kettle.  That’s how hard and ornery the water is there, and it’s something structured water didn’t budge.

So yeah; comparing the water here in the Pacific Northwest to the water in the midwest, what a difference.  There is a huge difference in how my homemade shampoo works here as opposed to how it worked, or didn’t work, for me when I lived in the midwest.

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

One response to “Water, Part 3

Leave a Reply

