Natural Body Odor Remover

I really, really love my black all-cotton kimono from Japan, I really, really do….

I spend a lot of time wearing it.  Sometimes that’s about all I put on, some days, just my kimono.  It’s perfect.

And, I’ve noticed, it’s starting to smell.

How…I wondered…do you get rid of Old Lady Smell?

Not that I’m an old lady or anything.

I searched around for that, and of course.  Baking soda.  Duh.

The technique is basically wash your garment, lay it out flat, make an almost-paste of baking soda, dab it on the stinky spots, and if the whole thing is stinky, dab it around in as many places as possible, and let it air dry, then wash normally.  Smells should be gone.

IMG_2693I’m trying it my way:  I’m soaking my kimono in a pot of hot soapy water where I’ve added & stirred in a whole bunch of baking soda, maybe a cup of baking soda total, and I’m going to just let that sit on top of my dryer for a couple of days.  Then I’ll let the kimono air-dry and after that I’ll wash it as usual.

(There are two missions at work here:  one, I’ve got a lot of caked-on hard water deposits on the inside of the pot, and maybe soaking the pot in structured water with baking soda will help.  Can’t possibly hurt…and two, soaking the kimono in baking soda; let’s see if that helps remove the smell.)

There’s also the possibility that I’ve washed and dried the kimono in the dryer so many times, the smell may be set in.  Hmmm…

I’ll try anything.  And I’ll blog about the results.

Coke.  Someone commenting on another website recommended Coke to remove stains and smells from clothing.  Seeing how effective Coke is as a cleanser is how she decided not to drink Coke anymore.  Hmmm…

 

***

I just remembered this, a joke I once told my college pottery teacher in West Virginia…he laughed for fifteen minutes.

Did you hear about the fella from West Virginia … who put a pair of Odor Eaters in his shoes, and disappeared?

***

I don’t want anyone out there reading my blog to go and disappear on me, now that you’ve read how to remove body odor.

 

 

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

