Vinegar Hair Rinse

I had a great conversation with a new friend in Oregon, the woman who officiated my son’s wedding.  She’s been store-bought-shampoo-free and chemical-free for six years, she said, and just recently started washing her hair in spring water.  She doesn’t use shampoo, and washes her hair with vinegar when she washes her hair.  If her hair needs a conditioner she uses a little bit of coconut oil.

I talked about how my hair with the hard water here at home has been so ornery to deal with, especially as I’ve been trying to find a shampoo recipe that works for me.  This is one of the big reasons I installed one, then two and three, structured water whole house units on my house.  Yeah, she said, she’d started out using well water to wash her hair and had the same kind of black gunk eventually showing up on her hair that I’ve experienced with the hard water from the city system; her hair has felt much cleaner and softer and less gunky, using spring water to wash her hair.

This morning I surfed around the net to find vinegar shampoo recipes, and I’m still looking, but came across some nice apple cider vinegar recipes, one of which is for vinegar hair rinse.  I’ll try this for a while and see how I like it.

It’s a simple recipe:  1 quart of water, 1/3 cup of apple cider vinegar, and if you’d like, add some essential oil.IMG_5129

I filled up a recycled gallon jug with water, added 1 1/3 cups apple cider vinegar, and added 10 drops of Rose essential oil and 10 drops of Rosemary essential oil.  I’ll keep that in my bathroom cupboard for refilling the small ketchup bottle that I ordinarily keep in the shower.

A sample size recipe would be 1 cup water and 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar, and a drop or two of essential oil, in a plastic bottle to keep in the shower.

Smells good!  And any traces of “vinegar smell” will dissipate as the hair dries.

 

 

 

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

One response to “Vinegar Hair Rinse

Leave a Reply

