Summertime Bug-Bite Natural Body Products

Time for bugs and bug bites and bug evasion, here in my neck of the woods.

Last week I tried out a gnat repellent recipe, which worked pretty well; somehow I lost the bottle!  Tonight I was looking around for the recipe to make some up again.  What I *really* wanted was to make some bug bite soother, and ran across a recipe for soothing bites and poison ivy, and also a bug repellent.  Here are all three recipes.

First, an anti-gnat recipe:

4 ounces of carrier oil:  canola, grapeseed, almond oil — I used E-oil because it was handy
4 drops of cedar essential oil
4 drops of lavender essential oil
2 drops of eucalyptus essential oil
2 drops of rosemary essential oil
1 drop of peppermint essential oil

Drop it all in, shake it up, and it’s ready to spray on your body.

I also have peppermint leaves growing in my garden; peppermint leaves can be rubbed on the skin directly to repel gnats.

***

Then I found a recipe for insect repellent.  I chose 4 ounces of almond oil, and 5 drops of each one of the highlighted oils, because I have those handy:

First, choose which essential oil to use based on the insect you want to target the most.

To repel mosquitoes, choose citronella, peppermint, lemon, eucalyptusclove, thyme, lemongrass, geranium, or lavender oil.

For fleas, choose cedarwood, citronella, eucalyptus, tea tree oillemongrasslavenderorange, or pine oil.

To target ticks, choose rose geranium, juniper, rosewood, thyme, grapefruit, or oregano oil.

After choosing your essential oils, pick your favorite carrier oil to blend. Some of my favorites include jojoba oil, almond oil, grapeseed oil, and olive oil.

For oil-based bug repellent:
Mix 40-50 drops essential oil into 8 ounces of carrier oil.

For water-based bug repellent:
Mix 40-50 drops essential oil into 4 ounces witch hazel or rubbing alcohol, then mix with 3-4 ounces water.

Smells…unique…and I’m thinking it should repel just about anything.

IMG_4003So, how about soothing the bug bites or poison ivy if that happens?

5. Apply a blend of essential oils of eucalyptus, winter green and peppermint or tea tree oil to bites every 2 to 3 hours to relieve itching and aid healing.

Into a little squeeze bottle I dripped “some” eucalyptus oil, “some” peppermint oil and “some” tea tree oil, then took one of my oregano oil capsules and cut the end off of that and squeezed that in…yummy…then added oh, about 2 tablespoons of grapeseed oil as a carrier. Just tried it out, put it on my new mosquito bites, and yes, that feels good. I’d give that one a thumbs up.

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

