Life Observations Since Making My Own Stuff

Beginning just before Christmas, I began making my own shampoo, conditioner, deodorant, hand lotion, body lotion, facial sunscreen, lip gloss, laundry detergent, fabric softener, toothpaste, mouthwash, soap scum remover for the bathtub, toilet bowl cleaner, rust remover (when it’s needed)…and I’m probably missing a few dozen products I’ve made and experimented with that just have become natural normal parts of my everyday life.  Everything in my life except for a very few store-bought products and a few simple ingredients (store-bought baking soda, white vinegar, Dr. Bronner’s, Zum shampoo bar soap, regular Zum bar soap, essential oils, coconut oil, and a variety of other oils) is now natural and organic and homemade.

I had a structured water device installed on my whole house on January 8, 2014.  This has revolutionized my life, my house, and my water, in so many ways.  I’m beginning to discuss that on my structured water blog.

I am not throwing away plastic shampoo bottles anymore, because I’m not buying shampoo.
I am not throwing away plastic water bottles anymore, because I’m not buying water anymore.  I’m drinking really good, clear, pristine structured water right from my tap.  No more filling up big garbage bags full of plastic bottles and taking them to the recycling!  I’m really picky now about anything I buy and the container it comes in:  what definitely runs through my head now before I buy anything is can I recycle this and use it for my own products?
I am not throwing away glass ginger beer bottles anymore; I do buy ginger beer, but not as much as before, and the bottles I buy I am reusing to bottle my own water kefir.

I finally had to make my second batch of shampoo on Sunday.  My first batch lasted from mid January through last weekend — about six weeks.  So 12 ounces of shampoo lasts me, with very, very long hair, about six weeks — or longer.  We’ll see.  It could be that with my first batch I had to get used to the new type of shampoo.  Subsequent batches of shampoo may last much longer.  I’m washing my hair about once a week now, whereas previously I washed my hair at LEAST every other day.

I don’t buy — or want — soda.  My own very good-for-me probiotic water kefir drink is AWESOME and is perfect.  I really don’t want anything else, besides structured water out of the tap, and coffee made with structured water in the morning.  I do love my 100% Kona coffee with real cream in the morning.  Drinking a Coke these days…ew.  I will, sometimes, with a few foods that I *have* to have a fizzy cola drink as accompaniment, such as pizza…but really, Coke (my absolute favorite soda ever in the whole world) tastes so bleh now.  And why is that?  There’s no life in it.

I’ve stocked up on all kinds of beans, nuts, seeds, rices, grains…and put them in Ball jars and use them as decor in my living room, which is next to my dining room, which is next to my kitchen.  It looks quite handsome, I must say.

Food As Decor

Food As Decor

I am growing fresh food right on my kitchen counter — sprouting seeds, fermenting kefir.

I am drinking water right from the tap, something you couldn’t have paid me to do for the previous 10 years here in this house. It tasted bad; there was “stuff” in it; and it was unfit to make coffee or tea straight from the tap, so I boiled it first. I don’t boil my water anymore before using it. That was a huge effort, right there, boiling all my water, and then I never drank it. I’d use it for coffee or tea water, but I wouldn’t drink it. Drinking water, I’d buy and drink out of plastic bottles.

One of the side effects I’m noticing from using structured water: I’m more intuitive and aware, and I rely on and trust my intuition to guide me.

I’ve cleaned-out…and cleaned-out…and cleaned-out again…and again, and again, and again…my clothes closets, my kitchen cupboards, drawers, you name it…office…shelves in the living room…

An odd side effect of all of this:  blue.  I want blue in my living space now.  I banished blue since 2001:  no blue clothes, dishes, paintings, upholstery, NOTHING blue in my life.  Well, there was that car…somehow that didn’t count.  No Blue.  Suddenly, about three weeks ago, I had to have BLUE.  And it feels right, again.  It feels like I’m bringing back balance  and wholeness into my life and blue is part of it.

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

One response to “Life Observations Since Making My Own Stuff

Leave a Reply

