…and not even a *thought* about itching

Wow.  In the middle of June I didn’t know this would even be possible, not to have a single thought all day long about itching.

What I’m doing, still, is taking L-Glutamine powder, one big heaping teaspoon a day in a smoothie or stirred into a glass of juice, and most days I remember to follow that up with a zinc tablet, an acidophilus tablet and a digestive enzyme tablet.  I also take fish oil just because it’s good for me, and have been taking evening primrose oil for a while to counteract itching.  I added Vitamin C in there a while back because of an unrelated infection, which has now gone away.

And of course I’m still on the elimination diet.  This part has been amazing.  I’m no more or less active than before — I still walk my dog twice a day, at least, and some days we go out to the dog park where we both get a little more exercise.  It’s an uphill area; you have to walk up the hill for the dog to run and play in the big open area; usually walking uphill has been a bit of a challenge.

Not lately, though!  I’ve lost enough weight now to the point where I’m getting much more comfortable in my body.  Walking up the hill is comfortable for me now.  I’d still like to “get skinny” and lose about 30 more pounds, back to my college, 1977, pre-3-babies weight.

This is what I’m noticing over the past few days:  we won’t tell “me” — but I think I can eat anything again.  I think if I wanted to, I could eat bread with gluten in it.  I think I could eat dairy.  This week I’ve eaten pita bread with fresh homemade (yum!) hummus, and Greek yogurt; I’ve had sushi with soy sauce, and grilled salmon with spices, all of which are potential triggers.  Yesterday I added the salad dressing to the salad and there was no itching.  I think I could eat anything at all now.  But I like the weight I am right now so much, I’m going to stay eating mostly meat, fresh veggies and fruits, no breads (to speak of) or dairy or sugar, or only just a limited amount of sugar.  Black Kona coffee.  (GOT to have that.)  The elimination diet has been that good for me.

Really, the only thoughts I have now about itching are “wow, I lived through that.”

 

 

 

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

