Strangely, No More Itch.

I’ve been itching and scratching for so long now, it feels really weird to not be itchy. There might be a little scalp itchiness now and then, or my arm will break out with some itchy red spots when I cut my dog’s hair and bathe him. It’s nothing like it was, only weeks ago.

On Friday I dared to have a salad with tomatoes in it — tomatoes being on my “don’t have this yet” list — and if there was any itching resulting from that, it was minimal. For dinner Friday night I decided to take myself out for fresh spring rolls and shrimp fried rice; I’d forgotten that shrimp fried rice has eggs (on the “no” list) and peas (ditto), and some sort of brown sauce on the rice. I’m pretty sure the spring roll dipping sauce had stuff in it that would be on my “oh HEAVENS no!” list — and there was not much reaction, if any.

And I credit this drastic turn of events completely to the L-Glutamine I’m taking.

It’s amazing to have experienced the extreme degree to which itchiness took over my life. Every decision I made for so long was centered around “can I eat this? Will this make me break out?” My body was so uncomfortable for so long, it forgot what normal felt like. Now I’m back into feeling what normal feels like. I love to take road trips, and in June and July wondered if I’d ever be able to be hundreds of miles away from home ever again, traveling, where I’d be dependent on what I could find at fast food places that wouldn’t trigger a big itchy spell.

Wow. Feeling normal and not-itchy is an amazing feeling, one I’ve always taken for granted, until March 2012.

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

16 responses to “Strangely, No More Itch.

  • Randy

    How did you reach remission

    Like

  • Randy

    Thanks. I will look for it. The liquids had soy in them, don’t want that. Thank you

    Like

  • Randy

    It didn’t hurt your stomach? I will have my naturopath test me. She s a brilliant NAET practitioner

    Like

    • susan bame hoover

      no, it didn’t hurt my stomach

      Like

      • randyfaulkner@yahoo.com

        And no drugs or any other treatment? I cannot and will not take drugs. Supps and homeopathy only
        Sent on the Sprint® Now Network from my BlackBerry®

        Like

      • susan bame hoover

        no drugs, nothing else…Everything I did & did not do is on the blog…

        Like

      • Randy Faulkner

        Thank you so much. Dd you also have urticaria vasculitis? Many blessings to you. I am getting some

        Sent from my iPad

        Like

      • susan bame hoover

        I was not diagnosed, I don’t go to doctors unless there’s something simple that they can treat that I can’t…like stepping on a rusty nail, for example…most everything else, I’m looking for my own remedies. I looked at the Wikipedia definition of urticaria vasculitis just now, and no, that didn’t sound like what I was experiencing. “Leaky Gut Syndrome” is what I think it was. Googling that, I learned a whole lot. Basically my body was at war with itself.

        Like

      • randy

        I am similar in my journey. I went to many and no one diagnosed me. I finally figured it out and told the dr what tests to order. Duh. amazing. Leaky gut was a factor for me due to abuse of Zovirax, and also repeated infections, (shingles and a bizarre sinus infection, could breath, but bloody). This kicked it in last Sept. The UV is when they hurt and have little bleeding under the skin , so an itch or pain and then a hive or a red dot. I put myself on stuff for the leaky gut and working on candida too. NAET with a ND is helping me. Just not in remission yet, but plan it soon! Inspiring that you posted, really serves, so thank you so much.

        Like

      • susan bame hoover

        You’re welcome, and I hope that one day you can feel so good and free of the hives that you’ll look back on it and say “wow, that was sure something, wasn’t it”… I just took a few minutes and reread my “memory foam mattress saga” in all seven parts and my goodness, how sick I was! And how much better I am now!

        The most helpful thing for me was tuning into myself, listening to myself for what I needed, doing my own research, seeing what was going on with myself from a metaphysical perspective, trusting myself, and trusting the synchronicities that showed up in my life. I believe that I’ll know what I need to know when I need to know it, and I remember that moment that I heard the Jean Adrienne radio show interview and the doctor she was interviewing talked about the L-Glutamine and other supplements and “leaky gut.” I’d never heard of any of that before. I investigated it, followed through, and that took care of it. It all worked out perfectly.

        Like

      • randy

        anyone in your family have any automimmune diseases?

        Like

      • susan bame hoover

        Not that I know of…

        Here’s the link to that radio show I mentioned, where I first heard about L-Glutamine: http://www.awakeningzone.com/Episode.aspx?EpisodeID=1293

        Like

      • randy

        thanks. You probably didn’t have CAU, probably just the gut issue.

        Like

Leave a Reply

