The Greek Fest

Oh, I love the Greek Fest.  It had been years since I’d been to a Greek Fest, and that was when I lived in Ohio.  Now that I live 14 hours west of there, and a friend invited me, and I hadn’t been to one since living in Ohio, I gladly said “Yes!  I’ll meet you there!”

It was a warm, sunny Saturday afternoon and the sun was great, the music was great, the dancers were great, and I was looking forward to some great Greek food.

*sigh*

It was my first choice to eat the lamb chops, and I was really careful about picking out the salad…”what’s in the dressing?”, I asked.  “Don’t know,” they said.  I ate it anyway.  It was sooooooooooooooooo good.

And then the baklava!  And a couple of other desserts containing wheat!  Oh my!  It was all so, so, so good.

I said to my friend, “I’m going to eat it anyway and if I break out, I’ll deal with it then.”

So I’ve been dealing with it for a week now.

Dang.

It’s probably more intense this time around than it was the first time around, several months ago.  Or maybe I just don’t remember how uncomfortable I was in March and April and May.  After I started feeling fine, I felt just fine!

One thing I learned, though:  do not use Witch Hazel and Aloe from Watkins on hives.  Man oh man, did I learn that you do not do that.  That may have made things much, much worse for the couple of days I used that.  I’m trying out everything to see what works and what doesn’t.  That, doesn’t.

This morning I made up a new batch of my coconut oil body lotion, since I was just about out of my first batch.  It feels so good going on, love the way it smells, and I have no idea if it “heals” or not, but at least it doesn’t make things worse.  That, I do know.

 

 

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

