coconut pumpkin soup

I was too hungry to bother to measure things, and here’s what I did.

Ingredients:

  • Small can of pumpkin
  • Coconut milk
  • cooked creamy rice
  • Turmeric
  • Nutmeg
  • Shredded coconut
  • Coconut palm sugar

Empty the contents of the small can of pumpkin into a 6-8 quart saucepan, one that won’t stuff burn easily.  This will simmer gently for a while.

Add “some” coconut milk.  I used the kind in the chilled half-gallon container in the dairy aisle (not my favorite). I probably poured in between 2 and 3 cups of coconut milk.

Get that cooking gently, just warming up a bit.  Stir it with a whisk for several minutes while it mixes together.

Then add:

about 1/2 to 1 cup of the cold cooked creamy rice cereal, a leftover from yesterday’s breakfast

Stirred that in too.

Added:

1/4 tsp of turmeric (I measured that one)

and a sprinkling of nutmeg

At about this time I tasted it…hmm, needs a little something.

I added some coconut palm sugar…tasted…added some more…then some more…then more…maybe added a total of 1/4 to 1/2 cup.  It takes a good bit of sweetening for me to get it tasting like I’d enjoy it.

I waited until I could see tiny little bubbles coming up to the top of the soup…and about a minute later turned the burner off.

I ladled some up in the bowl and added about 1/4 tsp more turmeric, and about another tablespoon of coconut palm sugar….then threw in a good maybe 1/8 to 1/4 cup shredded coconut and stirred it all together.

Ah!  Now we’re talking.

***

I’ve looked around the internet for a good coconut soup that had all the “right” stuff and nothing that would make me itch…couldn’t find anything that suited me, so here you go.  I don’t know why I added the cold creamy rice cereal, but I like it!  If I’d make this again, I’d definitely add it.  It gives the soup a little extra body or something.  And the coconut in there gives me something to chew on.

***

Please note that turmeric used to be used as a dye.  It stains stuff like white plastic ladles, white dishrags…just so you know.

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

