cave man pasta

I had some leftover chicken stock from cooking a whole organic chicken in the crockpot, and didn’t quite know what to do with it.  I got it cooking gently, picked through it and removed any remaining bones, then added some water, some spaghetti noodles and some veggies.  It’s really good!

Ingredients:

  • About 2 cups of thick chicken stock (refrigerated)
  • About 2-3 more cups of water
  • Brown rice pasta (spaghetti, angel hair, whatever you like)
  • A handful of rainbow chard
  • 2-4 stalks of celery, cut up into chunks
  • fresh parsley:  if you’d scrunch all the stalks together into a cluster, I used about a dime-diameter-sized bunch
  • salt
  • thyme  (I use dried organic thyme on just about everything, now)

What I did:

  • Got the stock cooking gently, on low heat, so that I could pick through it and remove any bones or stuff I didn’t want
  • Broke up the pasta into thirds & added that and turned the heat up to about medium, just enough heat to cook the pasta
  • Added enough water to cook the pasta well — 2 or 3 cups
  • Let that simmer for 5, 10 minutes
  • When the pasta was just about done cooking, added the cut-up celery, cut-up parsley and the handful or two of chard
  • Cooked that for 5 or 10 more minutes
  • Added salt & thyme to taste

I’m having it for lunch right now.  Somehow it reminds me of miso soup, which I currently miss because I’m not eating tofu or anything soybean-related yet.

I am wowed by my spontaneous creative abilities!  LOL.

This can be eaten “as pasta,” separating it from the juices, or “as soup.”

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

