starting the challenge phase

Yesterday I started the “challenge phase” of the diet, and added some lemon to a salad.

No reactions right away.  There was a bit of itchiness, redness, raised areas last night…but that’s usually how this works for me.  I’ll get itchy at night.

I woke up this morning and things were pretty calm, itch-wise.  No big red itchy spots.

I might add that I’ve always been able to sleep through the night with this, and take no medications.  I’ve read on message boards online that some folks have such a problem with this…they go to their doctor, the doctor refers them to a dermatologist or allergist, and they end up with half a dozen medications that then start interacting and reacting with each other and they have to take yet more medications to stop the reactions of one of the meds.  A never-ending cycle — and the one with the allergy is still just as uncomfortable, and the only change is now their bank account is down by $1000 or more.  And they still itch, and can’t sleep at night, and are just miserable.

I have no medical insurance, haven’t seen a doctor for any of this, and the only “meds” I’ve taken so far is oil of oregano, taken internally twice daily, one “soft gel” each time, which helped tremendously, and I stopped taking it this week or last.  I’ve been getting along okay this week without the oil of oregano so I thought maybe it’s time for the “challenge phase.”

I also have started doing muscle testing for taking any medications or eating or drinking anything that I have a question about.  This is the best website I’ve found about muscle testing yourself, complete with pictures:  http://www.ladybarbara.net/html/self-testing.html

A link on that site takes you to http://www.healthcallsus.net/hh_enscan.html , another excellent resource for information on muscle testing yourself when you’re wondering about (whether to buy something, eat, drink, medicine you’re wondering about taking, herb you’re wondering about collecting — any decision you’re needing to make).

Another thing I do is talk to my body and ask it what it needs, what it wants.  Sometimes all it wants is my attention.  Maybe it needs to go walk in the woods, take a bath, do some extra deep breathing, go play in the garden and get some sun on my skin.  Maybe my body just needs a little extra love and attention and then it’ll be all right.  I talk to my cells and give them the permission they need to rebalance in any way they need to rebalance, trusting that even if I feel out of whack for a while, it’ll be okay; I will return to balance.

It’s time to take back the power over our health that we’ve so gladly handed over to the medical community — take it back and empower ourselves to learn about our health, our bodies, and do for ourselves what western medicine sometimes cannot or won’t do.  Western medicine is oftentimes more interested in perpetuating its own existence than it is in healing us of what ails us.

That’s it for today.  Now it’s time for me to go make something with lemon in it.

 

 

About Susan Bame

Writer, Mediator, Facilitator, Teacher, fascinated with indigenous forms of conflict resolution. I love watching people become empowered. I have a master's degree in conflict resolution and a personal interest in organic food, detoxing and healing the body, alternative holistic approaches to health, self-empowerment and win-win solutions through mediation, Structured Water™, and energetic healing. I lived on the Omaha Reservation in northeast Nebraska for ten years, worked with Native families in the area, and have a great interest in Native history, culture, practices, traditions, stories, and current affairs. View all posts by Susan Bame

Leave a Reply

